Meeting Notice: Tuesday July 8, 2014

There will be a meeting of the Kanawha County Democratic Executive Committee on Tuesday, July 8, 2014 at 6:00pm in the courtroom of the Honorable Judge Charles E. King on the 4th floor of the Kanawha County Judicial Annex Building.  Free parking will be provided at the old courthouse parking lot across the street.

We have a full agenda to cover at this meeting.  It is important that each and every member attend this meeting.  If you cannot attend the meeting, please send a proxy.  We have many vacancies that need to be filled and based on a motion made at our last meeting those vacancies will be filled on July 8th and individuals interested in filling those vacancies must be present in order to be considered.

We will also have a short presentation by Curt Zickafoose, Executive Director of the WV State Democrat Party and any Democratic candidate who is running for office will also be given 2-3 minutes to address the committee.

Meeting notices being mailed to all members will include a Member Information Form.  Please complete this form and return it to the meeting on July 8th.  It is VERY important that we have complete and accurate contact information for all committee members, and we are also asking for information that will help in filling positions on our Standing Committees.

Unified committee elects Elaine A. Harris Chair

New Kanawha County Democratic Executive Committee Organized
Unified committee elects Elaine A. Harris Chair

PDF Press Release

Elaine A. Harris of St. Albans was unanimously elected Chair of the Kanawha
County Democratic Executive Committee at its first meeting of newly elected
members last night, becoming the first woman to chair the committee.

Harris replaces Norris T. Light who held the position of chair for 20 years. He
was recognized for his service with a Distinguished Service Award presented by
state Auditor Glen B. Gainer III.

“I’m honored to be elected Chair of this committee,” Harris said. “We’ve got
important races that will be decided in November and the Democrats are ready
to get to work.

“Over the next several months, voters will be reminded the Democratic Party
stands with them, not with out-of-state, corporate interests that have deep
pockets to influence elections. In Kanawha County, it should be the voters who
decide our elections, not outside influence peddlers.”

Other officers elected to the committee were R. Derek Walker as Vice-Chair,
Michelle Peters as Secretary, Sheila Melton as Treasurer and Thornton Cooper
as Parliamentarian.

Organizational Meeting June 10th

The Organizational Meeting of the Kanawha County Democratic Executive Committee will be at 6:00pm on Tuesday June 10th at the Kanawha County Judicial Annex Building in Judge Kings Courtroom.  All members elected in the May 2014 Primary will be seated and the committee will be organized for the next four years.  If you were elected in May to the Committee – PLEASE ATTEND.  If for some reason you cannot attend, send a Proxy!